The Penzance Union was formed in June 1837.
The workhouse was built at Mount View in Madron in 1838.
A Board of Guardians saw to the operation of the workhouse and these guardians were elected
from the twenty parishes that made up the Union.
The Union comprised of the following parishes: Gulval, Ludgvan, Madron, Marazion, Morvah, Paul,
Penzance, Perranuthnoe, St Buryan, St Erth, St Hilary, St Ives, St Just, St Levan, St Michaels Mount,
Sancreed, Sennen, Uny Lelant, Towednack and Zennor.
The number of guardians elected by the parish was dependent upon the size of their
parish so Penzance elected six, St Ives, Paul and St Just elected four, and the
remaining parishes accordingly to make a total of 44 guardians.